A Meaningful Easter

14 04 2009

For those of us in church world we should be the most attune to the amazing events that Easter celebrates, but sadly many of us have been guilty of letting the production and stress of getting everything right get in the way that we miss the simple message.

An innocent man died a criminals death to save me! Jesus did everything required to give me life and freedom from my sin.

So this Easter, 2 days ago, I determined to not allow that to happen. I am currently not committed to any church on the weekends so I often travel and serve other places. Columbia Church does not have a weekend service and will not for some time so we are always looking for places to serve.

On Good Friday I got a phone call from Jay Hardwick, a church planter and friend here in Columbia. Jay is the lead pastor of Awaken Church. They will not launch a public weekend service until this fall, but they did have a number of people who were going to be baptized on Easter. You can read about that on Jay’s blog. The people who were being baptized invited a TON of friends and family and all the sudden Jay needed help running and serving that morning. He asked if Columbia Church could help.

It was late notice, but I wanted to do anything I could to help. We were able to put together a small team of 11 to go and help. We set up the sound system, worship environment, children’s environment, served as host team, and ran the media presentation. It was awesome! Our Easter celebration was spent serving. I could think of no better way to thank Jesus for His sacrifice than by serving His church.

That day 7 people professed Jesus as their Lord and were baptized. I know we only had a small part in it, but we were blessed to have been used. God moved in that school cafeteria and eternity was changed.

I was never more proud of Columbia Church than I was this Easter as we served another church and watched and celebrated God changing lives.

After a great morning at Awaken Church I came home and took a 2 hour nap then went to my mother and father in-laws home for a wonderful dinner with family and Columbia Church friends. It really was a beautiful day celebrating all that Jesus has done for me.

Thank you Jesus!


Actions

Information

One response

14 04 2009
Jimmy Smith

Hey brother. I can tell you, you and your team played more than a “small role” and you made a difference. Thank you so much for your heart, your service and your dedication to serving others in the name of Jesus. Through your efforts, HE was magnified!

Leave a comment